Forum

Login        Register

It is currently 22:39 on Friday 19 December 2014



Board Index » Archive » Summer 2013 (inc. Home Ashes Series + Ireland away)


Post new topic Reply to topic Page 2 of 2 [ 13 posts ] Go to page Previous 1, 2
Author Message
addtamx
Post subject: Re: Clearly out, but doesn't walk ...
PostPosted: 02:28 on 14th Jul 2013

Joined: 21:02 on 9th May 2008
Posts: 966
Location: Australia
Airliebird9 Wrote:
Stuart Broad will almost certainly know he has hit that ball, similarly Dinesh Ramdin knew he did not take a clean catch. I personally do not see a difference! Whilst we all crave consistency I see none here when one gets punished and the other doesn't, especially if the charge is 'not in the spirit of the game'.


Yeah, to be honest I'm not sure about Ramdin coping a ban for that....very dangerous precedent to have set IMO. We've seen plenty of grassed catches claimed in the past and who can truly say if any of them were deliberate attempts to cheat or just misjudgements??

As for Broad, of course he knew he hit it, no doubt about that.....but he just stood there. It wasn't like he was shaking his head or trying to convince the umpire that he didn't hit it, in essence he didn't lie about it, whereas the feeling with Ramdin was that he clearly did.

And from my pov I'm certainly not just looking at this from a biased England position. I would never and have never criticised any opposition player for not walking. If this had happened in reverse I'd be mighty pissed off with the umpire as there is no excuse for missing these......but I would not be criticising any Aussie batsmen for standing their ground.
Top
Reply with quote
As_An_Ausie
Post subject: Re: Clearly out, but doesn't walk ...
PostPosted: 00:51 on 15th Jul 2013

Joined: 13:54 on 10th Jul 2013
Posts: 11
No one walks anymore but Broad deserves a BAFTA!
Top
Reply with quote
Maidenover
Post subject: Re: Clearly out, but doesn't walk ...
PostPosted: 07:03 on 18th Jul 2013

Joined: 09:13 on 23rd Apr 2008
Posts: 2913
Why did Broad 'walk' in the 2nd innings ?
Top
Reply with quote
Post new topic Reply to topic Page 2 of 2 [ 13 posts ] Go to page Previous 1, 2